See like a local. Work with a local to plan your trip.

Which Countries are Open for Travel?

Updated April 12, 2021

Which countries are open for travel? What are the current coronavirus requirements? We dove into our destinations and came up with this list. This information will be updated every Monday. 

Keep in mind: As of January 26, 2021, anyone traveling to the United States from a foreign country—including Americans returning from abroad—must present a negative PCR test that is no more than three days old.


Buenos Aires | Colombia | Costa Rica | Croatia | Cuba | France | Ireland | Italy | Japan | London | Los Angeles | Mexico City | Montreal | New York City | Peru | Portugal | Puerto Rico | Rio de Janeiro | Spain | Thailand | Philippines


Buenos Aires


January 4th: The U.S. State Department has assigned Argentina a Level 4 "Do Not Travel" Travel Advisory. Americans are not permitted to enter—unless they have a relative who is an Argentinian citizen and an exceptional reason to visit.

Effective December 25th, all travelers—even those with a negative PCR test—will be required to quarantine for seven days. 


January 11th: Americans can enter Colombia. Travelers can find limited flights to Bogota, Cartagena, Medellin, and Cali. As of January 7th, all travelers must present a negative PCR test that is no more than 96 hours old. 

Costa Rica

January 18th: As of November 1st, US citizens from all 50 states can travel to Costa Rica. Travelers will need proof of health insurance to cover any potential COVID-19 treatments in Costa Rica. 



March 22nd:  Americans are permitted to enter Croatia at this time for tourism — provided that they have evidence of accommodation paid in advance and a negative PCR test taken within 48 hours. 


February 1st: Starting on February 6th, the Cuban government will require that travelers quarantine for up to one week. Because of rising coronavirus cases in Cuba, the government also plans to reduce all incoming flights. 


December 7th: Presently, American citizens are not permitted to enter France unless they qualify for an exception. 



January 18th: Americans are permitted to visit Ireland. They will need to provide a negative PCR test that is no more than 72 hours old. All arrivals must quarantine for 14 days.


January 4th: American citizens are not permitted to travel to Italy


January 18th: Travel to Japan for tourism is not permitted


March 1st: All travelers must quarantine for 10 days upon their arrival and take two PCR tests while in quarantine. Travelers arriving from countries on the UK's "red list" must quarantine in a government-approved hotel. 

Los Angeles


April 12th: Vaccinated travelers do not have to quarantine. Non-vaccinated travelers must take a PCR test and quarantine for 5-7 days — if a non-vaccinated traveler does not get tested, they must quarantine for 10 days.

Mexico City

March 22nd: The border between Mexico and the United States is closed to nonessential travel. This border closure has recently been extended until April 21st. However, this directive does not apply to air travel

Some areas of Mexico—like Cancun—have opened to tourists.

Coronavirus cases in Mexico remain high. The U.S. State Department has assigned Mexico a Level 3 Travel Advisory, which advises Americans to reconsider travel to Mexico. 


February 22nd: The US-Canadian border will be closed to non-essential travel until at least April 21st.

New York City


April 12th: Beginning April 1st, domestic travelers to New York will not have to quarantine.

International travelers must quarantine for seven days after arriving in New York, with a test three to five days after arrival. Travelers who choose not to be tested must remain in quarantine for 10 days.


April 12th: On October 1st, Peru resumed international flights. Travelers will need to provide a negative PCR test and quarantine for fourteen days. Travelers who test negative for the coronavirus upon arrival can end their quarantine. 


November 23rd: Americans are not permitted to enter Portugal unless they qualify for an exception

Puerto Rico

November 23rd: Americans can travel to Puerto Rico (remember, it's part of the United States). 

However, you'll also have to comply with Puerto Rican safety policies like presenting a negative test and wearing a mask

Rio de Janeiro


January 26th: Americans are permitted to travel to Brazil as long as they can provide a negative PCR test. However, the State Department has given Brazil a Level 4: Do Not Travel advisory. The CDC also gives Brazil an elevated risk rating, noting that coronavirus levels in Brazil are "very high." 


October 26th: American citizens are not permitted to enter Spain unless they meet specific requirements. 


April 12th: Americans are permitted to enter Thailand. Travelers will need to provide a negative PCR test and quarantine upon arrival for 10 days. 

The Philippines


March 22nd: American citizens are not permitted to enter the Philippines



See the world like a local.
ViaHero connects you with a local to help plan your trip. They’ll create a guidebook based on your personal travel style.
You’ll see a unique side of a destination and travel independently—all while saving time and money in the planning process. Find a local today.

Looking for more info?